Why I Believe In God

Note: This post is a continuation of Why I Believe In God, And Why Atheists’ Lives Aren’t MeaninglessI’m Doing Better, and My Current Thoughts On Life

Look at this image:

Image result for the uncanny valley

There’s something off about it, isn’t there?

That’s the uncanny valley at work:

In aesthetics, the uncanny valley is the hypothesis that human replicas which appear almost, but not exactly, like real human beings elicit feelings of eeriness and revulsion among some observers. (Thank you, Google.)

When it comes to my belief in a higher power, I find myself driven by similar feelings.

What I mean is: I look at the world around me, and I can’t help but feel that there is something off.

Like that feeling of eeriness and revulsion that you can’t quite put your finger on when you look at a robot face…

Image result for the uncanny valley

…I can’t help but feel that there is more to existence than what I can understand with my mind and perceive with my five senses.

And that more I call “God.”

Lately, I’ve found that Syd Matter’s “Obstacles” does a good job of conveying that elusive feeling I have (hence why it’s my favorite song):

To me, it’s a song that conveys that 1) all is not as it should be…

Let’s say sunshine for everyone
But as far as I can remember
We’ve been migratory animals
Living under changing weather

…and 2) one day, all will be as it should once again:

Someday we will foresee obstacles
Through the blizzard, through the blizzard

And, that’s how I see life:

Our world is not as it should be, and it is my duty to do something about that: It is my duty to learn to “foresee obstacles through the blizzard,” and do what I can to help others to do the same.

Thank you for reading.

Image result for blizzard

Leave a Reply

