I’m Doing Better

If you read my last post I’m Losing Faith In God you know I wasn’t doing well.

Hours have passed. I’ve been to work. I’ve been out for Mexican food with my family. And we watched Star Wars: A New Hope when, upon getting home, we saw that it was on TNT. I haven’t seen that movie in years. I used to watch it all the time with my brothers. So many good memories.

sigh

Now, sitting at my computer, writing this post after everyone has gone to bed, listening to “Obstacles” by Syd Matters…

…I’ve realized something: A reason why I believe there is a god.

Maybe it’s the hopeless romantic in me, but I look at all the beauty in the world (man-made and natural), and I think to myself There has got to be more to existence than what I can perceive with my five senses.

Even if I decided to renounce my Catholic faith, a belief in a god is something I couldn’t shake.

I don’t have time travel powers but, listening to Max’s inner monologue, I think That is so me!

“…there has to be a reason… and I have to find out why.”
~ Max Caulfield

Thinking about Life is Strange, I am reminded of words from I was an atheist until I read The Lord of the Rings:

Why was I so captivated by this story that made fighting evil against all odds so profound? Why did it instill in me a longing for an adventure of the arduous good? And how does the story make sacrifice so appealing? The Lord of the Rings showed me a world where things seemed more “real” than the world I lived in. Not in a literal way, obviously; in a metaphorical, beyond-the-surface way. The beautiful struggle and self-sacrificial glory permeating The Lord of the Rings struck a chord in my soul and filled me with longing that I couldn’t easily dismiss.

Thank you, everyone, for all of your feedback on my previous post. Your Likes and comments.

Because of you I’m doing better.

Creatures are not born with desires unless satisfaction for these desires exists. A baby feels hunger; well, there is such a thing as food. A duckling wants to swim; well, there is such a thing as water. Men feel sexual desire; well, there is such a thing as sex. If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.
~ C.S. Lewis

4 thoughts on “I’m Doing Better

  1. The relationship we all have with God(s) is exceedingly complex, personal, and ever changing. I feel that many atheists console themselves (and rightly) in their rationality and logic. Yet, I’ve never met a single person who was bereft of that sense of mystery, and deep profound satisfaction when witnessing beauty. Beauty that, collectively, we all agree on. The laughter of a baby. Nebulae. Aurora. Moonlight on the water… Harmonic oscillations in the fifth…

    At times we have experiences, even seemingly mundane, where there is a distinct sense of peace and belonging. Sometimes we have yearnings for things that are unattainable, like sitting on top of a cloud to watch the sunset. Or we are driven by a thirsty knowledge for the undiscovered mysteries of the world…

    Why not call these things God(s)? How would that possibly be less meaningful? To personify mystery and beauty, is to apply a personal tool of understanding. Why not use this particular tool?

    I think atheists could be right to doubt many of the claims in religious texts. But one thing atheists overlook is the spread and variety of religion. One of the main vehicles for this spread is a spiritual need. It can be fulfilled in a community setting, or in solidarity. To behold the mysteries of the universe, feel out instinctive pull, and not give it a name… What a travesty.

Leave a Reply

