You Cannot Serve Two Masters

“No matter what happens down there, I can’t bring none of that shit back home with us. Can’t let it happen. And I’ll do whatever I have to to see that it doesn’t.”
~Captain Janek, Prometheus (2012)

Image result for prometheus captain janek

When I think of how, like a virus, love for one’s country has infected Christianity in America, I am reminded of Captain Janek’s words.

This post is not me criticizing Movieguide. I try not to do that anymore. This post is me criticizing an aspect of Christianity in America that Movieguide and Thimblerig’s Ark reminded me of recently. And that aspect is:

The tendency to combine faith and patriotism.

For example:

“No one can serve two masters.”
~Matthew 6:24

I don’t want to see America crash and burn.

But: My love for my country only goes so far.

If I had to choose between saving one soul from Hell or upholding American values, than I would choose to save a person’s soul.

Why?

Because: Eventually, America will pass away. Eventually, all the stars will snuff out, and the universe will be nothing more than a void filled with black holes. America will be crushed to atoms and sucked into oblivion. But the human soul, either in eternal bliss or eternal suffering, will endure.

Wow. That got bleak…

To counter the bleakness, here are kittens:

Image result for kittens

Thank you for reading.

2 thoughts on “You Cannot Serve Two Masters

  1. Honestly, don’t worry about the bleakness. My blog is all dark today. It happens. I like to think that life is a spectrum like that where you go from light to dark and in between. I do know that some people combine their faith with their patriotism and it always irked me somehow. I mean they’re just two completely different things. But that’s their choice. You have an interesting take on it too 🙂

    1. “You have an interesting take on it too”

      Thanks. 🙂 I’m glad you like what I wrote.

      “…that’s their choice.”

      You’re right.

      “I like to think that life is a spectrum like that where you go from light to dark and in between.”

      I agree: Life is a spectrum.

Leave a Reply

