Why “Deadpool” Shouldn’t Be Nominated For An Academy Award

Note: This post contains graphic content.

Why Deadpool Should Be Nominated For A Handful Of Oscars

First:

If you think that I’m against Deadpool being nominated for an Academy Award because I hate blood and gore, here is a scene from one of my favorite movies:

Image result for evil dead 2013 gif

If you think that I’m against Deadpool being nominated for an Academy Award because of its language, here is one of the funniest scenes ever:

If you think that I’m against Deadpool being nominated for an Academy Award because of its nudity, this is one of my favorite pieces of art:

Image result for the birth of venus

If you think that I’m against Deadpool being nominated for an Academy Award because of its sexual content, here is a Bible verse:

The two will become one flesh.
~Mark 10:8

The reason I say this is:

I’m not against Deadpool being nominated for an Academy Award because I can’t handle, for example, violence or sex, in a movie. When it comes to content like that, I say “Fine!” as long as it isn’t gratuitous — as long as it serves a purpose.

And, in the case of Deadpool, I would say that the content does serve a purpose. From the very beginning to the very end, Deadpool knows exactly what it is: Sheer entertainment. It’s not trying to get you to think deeply. It just wants you to have fun.

movie174

Ultimately, the character Deadpool is not my cup of tea. But, I understand why so many people like him. And as long as their enjoyment of Deadpool doesn’t harm themselves or others, I don’t see a problem with being a fan of him.

Different strokes for different folks.

The reason I don’t want Deadpool to be nominated for any Academy Award is:

Short answer:

Have our standards as a society gotten so low?

Long answer:

Ideally, the Academy celebrates art, not commerce.

We don’t live in an ideal world, which is why we have a movie like Big Hero 6 beating a movie like Song of the Sea for Best Animated Feature.

Image result for song of the sea

My point is: The Academy Awards are supposed to be about celebrating what people need, not what people want.

To put it another way: The Academy Awards celebrate salad. Not ice cream.

And Deadpool is ice cream.

Ice cream is fine in moderation.

Image result for deadpool gifs

But a lifetime of ingesting nothing but ice cream…

Related image

Related image

Image result for deadpool gifs

…will do you more harm than good.

Image result for too much ice cream

And how does a lifetime of ice cream-eating start?

One way it starts is by the Health Department declaring that, in terms of nutrition, ice cream is on par with salad.

One more thing:

As someone who wants to see the Academy be more diverse, I don’t want “diversity” to mean “lowering the bar.”

4 thoughts on “Why “Deadpool” Shouldn’t Be Nominated For An Academy Award

  1. I agree with you. Actually I didn’t even know “Deadpool” was being considered for an Academy Award until I saw this post and I was shocked. I was like “have our standards for everything dropped this low now?”

Leave a Reply

