Celebrating Beauty: Day 8 – Looking Closer

“I’ve heard it too many times to ignore it,
It’s something I’m supposed to be…
Someday we’ll find it.”
~ Kermit the Frog

Image result for kermit the frog banjo

Note: I’ve been away from here for two days because I was spending time with family, and doing Christmas shopping.

Inspired by TheOriginalPhoenixThimblerig’s Ark, and Sunshine Lou, every day until Christmas, I’m going to write about one example of beauty that I have found, in order to counter the darkness that I see when I turn on the news.

Day 8, I am celebrating:

Film critic, teacher, and author Jeffery Overstreet.

Image result for jeffrey overstreet

Jeffrey Overstreet is one of the people who inspire me to keep on trying to be a light in dark places. (Matthew 5:14 — 16)

The reason I am celebrating Jeffrey Overstreet is because of a recent post on his blog, Looking Closer, that made me think: Yes! He gets it!

Did you ever have a moment where you read someone’s writing and think: Yes! This is exactly what I’ve been trying to say!

This is the post I’m talking about:

The difference between Gandalf and Saruman

gandalf-tempted

That post gave me hope. It inspired me to not despair — to keep on trying to make the world a better place and show Jesus’ love to all people.

Question:

What blog post, from what blog, told you something you needed to hear?

3 thoughts on “Celebrating Beauty: Day 8 – Looking Closer

  1. I really like this post but I can’t think of any specific posts that told me something I needed to hear! 😛 (My brain is super pooped right now. I wrote 3 different blog posts today, studied Finite Math, and did research stuff for my book.)

    1. I’ll have to read those posts. 🙂 I look forward to reading your book when it’s published. And I hope Finite Math is going well.

      And I’m glad you liked my post. 🙂

      I hope you have a good rest of the day.

      1. It’s getting harder but I’m surviving. You will see at least 2 of the posts tomorrow if not 3 (one of them is a guest post on amileinmyshoes.) You have a nice day too! (Although its nighttime for me now hehe.)

Leave a Reply

