Celebrating Beauty: Day 7 – Sansa Stark

Inspired by TheOriginalPhoenixThimblerig’s Ark, and Sunshine Lou, every day until Christmas, I’m going to write about one example of beauty that I have found, in order to counter the darkness that I see when I turn on the news.

Day 7, I am celebrating:

Sansa Stark.

Image result for sansa game of thrones

There is a lot to celebrate about Sansa. But, for now, I am celebrating one scene involving her.

In the second book of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire, A Clash of Kings, Sansa is confronted by a man wanting her to sing him a song:

“I’ll have that song. Florian and Jonquil, you said.” His dagger was out, poised at her throat. “Sing, little bird. Sing for your little life.”

Her throat was dry and tight with fear, and every song she had ever known had fled from her mind. “Please don’t kill me,” she wanted to scream, “please don’t.” She could feel him twisting the point, pushing it into her throat, and she almost closed her eyes again, but then she remembered. It was not the song of Florian and Jonquil, but it was a song. Her voice sounded small and thin and tremulous in her ears.

“Gentle Mother, font of mercy,
save our sons from war, we pray,
stay the swords and stay the arrows,
let them know a better day.
Gentle Mother, strength of women,
help our daughters through this fray,
soothe the wrath and tame the fury,
teach us all a kinder way.”

What happens next, I won’t spoil.

I’m celebrating this scene because I see it as one of the many examples of beauty to be found in the ruthless world of Westeros.

Related image

“Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable — if anything is excellent or praiseworthy — think about such things.”
~ Philippians 4:8

Question:

What scene from a book, show, movie, etc., makes you cry?

2 thoughts on “Celebrating Beauty: Day 7 – Sansa Stark

  1. Ah, I remember this part of the second book! The man was Ser Sandor Clegane, right?
    An amazing series, this was.

    Coming to the other part of this post, the scene where I almost cried was when I read ‘We Were Liars’ by ‘E. Lockhart’, the time when Cadence remembered everything and realised that she was responsible for what had happened (Not giving spoilers here).

Leave a Reply

