Celebrating Beauty: Day 1 – Eureka

Inspired by TheOriginalPhoenixThimblerig’s Ark, and Sunshine Lou, every day until Christmas, I’m going to write about one example of beauty that I have found, in order to counter the darkness that I see when I turn on the news.

Day 1, I am celebrating:

Eureka, from the anime series Eureka Seven.

Related image

There is so much I love about Eureka, that one post couldn’t do her justice. So I’ll try and give you the short version:

Eureka exemplifies a lot of the qualities that I admire in others and am working to cultivate in myself.

For example: As Eureka learns what it means to be human, she becomes more open and honest with her feelings. She isn’t afraid to say “I’m scared,” or “I don’t know what to do.”

0:40 — 1:50:

I’ve heard people dismiss this “Please save me!” attitude as weakness. But, I believe that it’s one of Eureka’s greatest sources of strength.

Eureka isn’t afraid to tear down her walls. To leave herself vulnerable in order to better understand herself, and better understand how the people in her life feel about her. That takes courage.

Image result for eureka seven don't you want me

In the short story “Button, Button” by Richard Matheson, a couple are given a button by a stranger and told that, if they press it, a person they don’t know will die and they’ll get $50,000.

Eventually, the wife gives in to the temptation to press the button. Later, she gets a phone call informing her that her husband died in a train crash, and that she is now in possession of his life insurance money.

When the wife confronts the stranger, the stranger replies: “Did you really think you knew your husband?”

My point is this:

If you pressed that button, Eureka wouldn’t be the one to die. Eureka wants to know that you know her.

Eureka’s emotional nakedness is the reason that, today, I am celebrating her.

Image result for eureka seven eureka smiling

To end this post:

Eureka’s words to her adopted son, Maurice, in episode 45, “Don’t You Want Me?”:

“You don’t like your mamma ’cause she looks like this? It’s mamma’s smile. Do you hate it that I smiled after I took the life of your real mamma? I would understand if you did, because even if you decided to hate me forever… mamma loves you, Maurice. That’s why I don’t want you to go through what I had to go through, feeling regret every minute of my life.”

eureka-17

5 thoughts on “Celebrating Beauty: Day 1 – Eureka

      1. You’re welcome! I’m glad you’re able to pull such positivity from everyday things like anime. I don’t know a lot of people, other than myself, who can and actually make an effort to do that. I think it makes for a very healthy lifestyle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

