Embracing Beauty • Day 15 • The Bus Scene from Swiss Army Man

I needed beauty today.

I needed to be reminded that life is worth living.

I needed to be reminded that, contrary to what the news says, the end is not nigh.

Thank you, Thimblerig’s Ark, for reminding me.

Thimblerig's Ark

Every year, I watch Star Wars on my birthday.

It’s a tradition that goes back more than twenty years. I usually invite a bunch of friends, and we watch one of the Star Wars movies. In fact, one year, in Kazakhstan, we watched all six of the movies, back to back.

It was a long day.

And over the years, I’ve made substitutions. I’ve watched Raiders of the Lost Ark, The Lord of the Rings (the entire trilogy in one sitting – exhausting), and E.T.

But they’ve always been films that looked backward, connecting me to my childhood.

imagesThis year, I made the conscious decision to go the complete opposite direction, to look forward. And so I invited friends to watch the 2016 film, Swiss Army Man.

This is a film directed by a duo known as The Daniels, and featuring actors Paul Dano and Daniel Radcliffe…

View original post 350 more words

Leave a Reply

