Fearless Blogger Award

Thank you to The Original Phoenix for nominating me for the Fearless Blogger Award.

In The Original Phoenix’s words, the award “recognizes bloggers who are unafraid to be their authentic self.”

fearlessbloggeraward

The Rules

  1. Include a pingback to this post when you write your award post.
  2. Pass on the award to some other bloggers and let them know of your nomination.
  3. Answer the prompt in one sentence or longer.

The Prompt

We all have fears and insecurities. What’s a fear/insecurity that you’ve had to overcome? How did you do it? How did it impact your life afterwards?

I Nominate

Words Are All I Have

Through poetry and stories, this woman is addressing deep, dark struggles that we all have at one point or another. Despite the occasionally dark tone of her blog, she herself always comes across, forgive me if I sound corny, a ray of sunshine — the kind of person that makes me think “I want to be more like her.”

Everybody’s daughter

“Everybody’s daughter” is talking about subjects that, from what I’ve seen, not many others are talking about. Whether you share her Catholic faith or not, you’ll be going “Hmm. Good point,” when you read her thoughts on issues such as the negative effects of divorce on kids.

welcome to my little piece of quiet

Through posting quotes, this woman, Ally, is letting the world know “It’s OK to be an introvert.” Introverts seem to have a bad reputation: we’re often seen as anti-social at best and as powder kegs at worst. I’m glad that Ally is letting world know what it means to be an introvert. Understanding leads to acceptance. Acceptance leads to compassion. And compassion leads to love. And if there’s one thing our world always needs more of, it’s love.

My Answer to the Prompt

What’s a fear/insecurity that you’ve had to overcome?

I constantly compared my life to others.

How did you do it?

I wrote down why I felt I had to compare my life to others, showed my reasons to family and friends, and with their help realized that me being who I am is enough: I don’t have what others have, but that doesn’t mean my life doesn’t have value, that I can’t be a force for positive change in the world.

How did it impact your life afterwards?

I struggled with thoughts of suicide because, comparing my life to others, I felt that I had wasted my life. I don’t struggle with those thoughts anymore.

8 thoughts on “Fearless Blogger Award

  1. Aww I love this post! As for comparing your life to others, I was talking to another blogger about this other day and she pointed out that no two strangers are meant to be twins. Your life is your very own and that’s very good.

    1. “…no two strangers are meant to be twins.”

      That’s true.

      “Your life is your very own and that’s very good.”

      You’re right.

      Thank you for your kind, inspiring words.

      And I’m glad you liked my post.

    1. You’re welcome. 🙂

      I was happy to nominate you.

      Your blog is helping me better understand what it means to be an introvert. And I’m sure your blog is helping others, too.

Leave a Reply

