The Fundamental Problem With Nudism

Note: This post is just me writing down restless thoughts. So if this post doesn’t seem very organized, that’s why. And I’m always willing to talk about whatever I’ve written.

For about a year, a lot of the posts I wrote on this blog had to do with nudism.

I’m not a nudist, but I wrote about nudism because I, nonetheless, found it interesting. Why would a person want to be a nudist? I wondered.

I talked to people who are nudists, and got more of an understanding of why people choose to go naked. I have to admit, there’s a part of me that’s jealous of such people. The reason why is: These people have found something that gives them such a sense of fulfillment and happiness, and I think Why can’t I have that?

I don’t have a desire to go naked. And I don’t want to put myself in a situation, like being at a nude beach, where a person could have their way with me in their mind, or try to have their way with me in real life.

But I’m glad that going naked can be a positive experience for people because, at first glance, I wouldn’t think such an experience was possible.

I am especially interested in women’s experience with nudism. This isn’t because I want to jerk off to, or fantasize about, naked women. (Lust is a sin.) This is because I’m glad that women are taking off their clothes and still demanding to be seen, and treated, with respect and love. I’m glad that women aren’t associating their value with their clothes: Lack of clothes doesn’t lower their self-esteem — it raises it. I think that’s beautiful.

We all have bodies. We’ve all been naked at one point in our life. We all know that being naked can feel good.

But to live one’s life naked is a step that not many take. And it is a step that can not change a person for the better: Nudists can have a negative reputation — many, it seems, eventually give in to the desire for sexual pleasure (Genesis 2:24)  and experience it at the expense of others, in any way possible: not many, it seems, are able to practice self-discipline and, thus, learn to see their fellow human beings as more human, not less, without clothes.

The fundamental problem with nudism is:

Being naked is, ultimately, escapism.

Why do I say that?

This is why:

A person, for one reason or another (culture, climate, health, to name three) can’t live their life naked. It’s not possible, in this imperfect world, to be “naked without shame” like Adam and Eve were. (Genesis 2:25)

That’s why God clothes Adam and Eve. (Genesis 3:21)

And the book of Revelation says that all who go to Heaven will be clothed:

They have washed their robes and made them white in the blood of the Lamb.
~ Revelation 7:14

The message is clear: The days of being naked are done.

But: We still want to be naked.

Why?

Because our naked body is a reminder of the Garden of Eden — a reminder of who we used to be.

And when a person is naked, all that they physically are is exposed for all to see. There are no more secrets. No more lies. No more tricks. Just the truth. The truth of who we physically are. Laid bare for all to see.

God created us and said we are “very good.” (Genesis 1:31) We are not meant to be build walls. We are not meant to hide. We are meant to lay ourselves bare. Being naked is a physical manifestation of that truth about human nature.

The point of me saying all this is:

I now realize that, because I was feeling unfulfilled so many months ago, I wrote about nudism because I craved the freedom and inner peace that people who go naked experience — I just didn’t want to obtain it through taking off my clothes.

All my feelings of un-fulfillment, anger, and sadness at the state of my life, came to a head when I thought about committing suicide.

And now, after that, I’m trying to find a new inner balance.

With God’s help, I’ll find it.

12 thoughts on “The Fundamental Problem With Nudism

    1. Thank you for your encouraging words. 🙂

      I haven’t tried meditating yet, but praying has helped me. And get back into reading and exercising has helped me in other ways, too. And the movies of Studio Ghibli never fail to cheer me up or get me to think about life from a new perspective.

      I don’t think it’ll be one thing that helps me find my inner balance, but a combination of things.

    2. Thank you for your encouraging words. 🙂

      I haven’t tried meditating yet, but praying has helped me. Getting back into reading and exercising has helped me in other ways, too. And the movies of Studio Ghibli never fail to cheer me up or get me to think about life from a new perspective.

      I don’t think it’ll be one thing that helps me find my inner balance, but a combination of things.

  1. Where I live – Northern Europe – Nudism (or as we say “naturism”) are rather common. We might live in an enviroment of sin? You should try it! 😉 I even know christian naturists!

    1. Thank you for commenting.

      At the moment, being a naturist doesn’t appeal to me.

      But I’m happy for all the people who have found going naked to be an experience that changes their life for the better.

  2. I have followed and commented on your posts for some time now. I am genuinely sorry to hear of your struggle and wish you only peace. I am a bit disappointed in the conclusion you arrived at in your exploration of the unpinning values of nudism/naturism. Not disappointed in you mind you I applaud the effort. I am disappointed because one of the unfortunate things about the way nudism or naturism is perceived in broader society and certainly online is nudism/naturism is just about being naked. That is not the fault of those perceivng. However if you get beyond the online expression and those who have been influenced by it you there is much more.

    More than what you describe as escapism. It can be a reintegration of the human being. It is more than trying to escape from shame or society. Rather for many it is a recconnenting with a deeper fuller expression of humanity that is closer to what you call God and the creative energy that brings human being into the world without clothes. An expression of humanity that reflects the creator. An expression of humanity before human being (not God) introduced shame into the relationship equation. As I read the Christian scriptures I wonder how much of our modern mindset and assumptions we read into our interpretation of the text. There is extensive research that would suggest the values of naturism and nudism is a returning to a truer self see the book by a catholic Cunningham Nudity and Christianity.

    I share this with you not to defend or convert you but to suggest there is much more to the subject than just being naked. I leave you with this defintion of naturism from the International Naturist Federation which reflects my point.

    “Naturism is a way of life in harmony with nature characterised by the practice of communal nudity with the intention of encouraging self-respect, respect for others and for the environment”.

    All the best in your quest for balance in all aspects of your life.

    1. Thank you for your kind words.

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts on what I’d written.

      Thank you for the book recommendation.

      And thank you for that definition of naturism.

      Since writing this post, I have found that there is more to naturism than I had thought — there is more to naturism than a desire to escape. I’m currently organizing my thoughts about this and might soon write another post about my thoughts on naturism.

      I’m glad that naturism has positively effected so many people.

      I’m glad that naturists want to say to the world “The human body is inherently good, and a person is more than their body.” That’s a message our sex-obsessed, objectifying world needs to hear.

      Though it is an unfortunate reality that people have used naturism as an excuse to do bad things, the intent of naturism is ultimately good, and that’s what I try and convey in many of my posts about naturism/nudism:

      There are good reasons that people go naked. Those peoples’ voices need to be heard. The world needs to realize the inherent goodness of the body and the inherent goodness of every human being.

Leave a Reply

