The Virtue of Laziness: Why Birth Control Will Always Suck

You know what I like about the 10 Commandments?

They’re simple:

Image result for the 10 commandments simplified

They take up half of one piece of paper.

They’re not, for example, a 20,000 page monstrosity:

Image result for obamacare bill size

God is a god of brevity.

Which why I’m left doing this…

Image result for ain't nobody got time for that meme

…when I hear news like this:

Male birth control study nixed after men can’t handle side effects women face daily

Of course men can’t handle the side effects. Because birth is never meant to be “controlled.”

It boggles my mind…

It boggles my mind that we (human beings) keep trying to find means to circumvent the simplicity of what God has created.

In this case: Circumvent the simplicity of sex.

It’s not enough to enjoy the many pleasures of sex. We’ve got to keep on trying to add new pleasures by, for example, taking away the risk of unplanned pregnancy

I’m reminded of the “Taco Town” Saturday Night Live skit.

We just keep adding on to something that doesn’t need to be added on to, until the thing has become a perversion of what it used to be.

One of the reasons that I don’t condone the use of condoms or birth control is because, frankly, I’m lazy.

God created sex to be pleasurable and satisfying in more ways than one.

Image result for jesus cool

But now that society tells me I’ve got to put ___ on, or make sure I’ve taken the right dosage of ___, sex will be none of those things.

I’d rather just experience sex as it was meant to be experienced.

It’s more simple that way.

I save time that way.

Thus: I enjoy myself more.

Which means the woman I’m with will enjoy herself more.

Everybody wins.

To repeat what I said above: God is a god of brevity.

It’s when we try and make God’s handiwork more complicated than it needs to be that we run into issues like making pills for men that they clearly are not meant to take.

But: If there’s anything predictable about humanity, it’s this:
We’ll keep on trying to fit a square peg into a round hole.

Image result for square peg into a round hole

7 thoughts on “The Virtue of Laziness: Why Birth Control Will Always Suck

  1. I didn’t say anything on your last post but I’m going to have disagree with you. Birth control is not taking anything away from sex. Some people legitimately do not want kids because they either have enough, can’t afford them, or just don’t want to be parents. I see nothing wrong in them preventing a pregnancy they can’t or won’t sustain. What if they would turn out to be abusive or neglectful parents? I’d rather them not have kids. As for the men who can’t tolerate the symptoms of birth control…that’s pathetic. Just my view! I completely respect your view. 🙂

    1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. 🙂 I’m always glad to have feedback on what I write, even if a person doesn’t agree with me.

      To respond to what you’ve said:

      “Birth control is not taking anything away from sex.”

      The point of sex is, ultimately, babies: The pleasure and closeness that people feel as a result of sex is ultimately in service of the creation of new life.

      Birth control takes away the possibility of new life by taking away the means new life comes into existence: A baby can’t be born if, for example, injected chemicals are keeping the sperm from the egg.

      “Some people legitimately do not want kids because they either have enough, can’t afford them, or just don’t want to be parents. I see nothing wrong in them preventing a pregnancy they can’t or won’t sustain. What if they would turn out to be abusive or neglectful parents?”

      If people aren’t ready to face the result of sex (a baby) and, thus, feel that they need to prevent the result through means like condoms, pills, injections, and, if those fail, abortion, than it would be best if they didn’t have sex until they are ready.

      The reason I feel this way is not just because of my Catholic faith.

      The reason I feel this way is: If my parents had used birth control, or resorted to abortion, because they had sex without being ready to face the result of their actions — me — than I wouldn’t exist.

      Everything you’ve read on this blog, all the conversations we’ve had, would never happen.

      On another note:

      There is a thing called Natural Family Planning, where people minimize the possibility of pregnancy through purely natural means. Natural Family Planning, from what I’ve read, is condoned by the Church:
      http://www.catholicnewsagency.com/resources/life-and-family/sexuality-contraception/birth-control-and-nfp-whats-the-difference/

      Thank you again for sharing your thoughts on what I’d written. I always like hearing from people.

      1. You’re welcome and I respect your viewpoint, it makes perfect sense why you believe what you do. It would be commendable if people who aren’t ready to be parents didn’t have sex but, as I’m sure you’re aware, that doesn’t always happen.

      2. “…I respect your viewpoint, it makes perfect sense why you believe what you do.”

        Thank you for understanding and respecting where I’m coming from.

        I’m glad we can have conversations like this: Conversations where, even if one doesn’t necessarily agree with the other, at least one understands where the other is coming from.

        With all the posts on my blog, my intent isn’t to say “Believe what I believe.” My intent is to say “This is what I believe. And this is why I believe it.”

        I try and always keep an open mind.

        “…as I’m sure you’re aware, that doesn’t always happen.”

        Yea: Unfortunately, that doesn’t always happen.

      3. I’m actually really curious about Catholicism so listening to your talk is very fulfilling for me. I feel like I’m beginning to understand religious points of views better now. As someone who’s very spiritual, and not so religious, that’s a bit difficult for me to pick up on my own.

      4. I’m glad my talk is fulfilling. And I’m glad you’re beginning to understand religious point of views better now.

        I was raised a Catholic, so I didn’t go on the spiritual journey that a lot people seem to go on: The journey of asking myself “Is this life all that there is?” and then, through meditation, prayer, and other spiritual practices, trying to find the answer to that question.

        I always felt that I knew what the answer to that question is. That doesn’t mean that I didn’t still pray or meditate. It just means that I felt I knew exactly why I was praying and meditating: To get more in touch with God.

        As an adult, what I’ve seen of the world has reaffirmed the belief I had, as a child, that the world is in trouble and that God — the source of love — is ultimately our only hope.

        When it comes to your own spiritual journey:

        Keep praying and being open to whatever God reveals to you. When something is from God, it will give you a feeling of inner peace.

        God has your best interests at heart. He wants you to have a boundless — eternal — life.

        If there’s anything I can do to help you, just let me know.

Leave a Reply

