I’m A Catholic, And I’m Not Afraid Of Being Persecuted: Here’s Why

Recently, an acquaintance brought this article to my attention:

What Will You Do When the Persecution Comes?

john-pettie_a-knights-vigil

Jesus says that we (his followers) will be hated by the world…

If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. (John 15:18)

…and that we must be prepared for the possibility of dying for our faith:

Whoever finds their life will lose it, and whoever loses their life for my sake will find it. (Matthew 10:39)

So, persecution doesn’t scare me since it’s inevitable. The possibility of losing my faith in God is what scares me.

Life, and the pain that comes with it, is temporary. God is eternal.

In the words of George R.R. Martin: All men must die.

We’re all going to die eventually.

I don’t want to be martyred for my faith. I want to die in my sleep after a good day. But if I must die for what I believe in, than so be it.

Better to die like Ned than to live like Joffrey.

Image result for ned stark death

Now: I’m going to continue living and stop fearing dying by listening to this catchy tune:

2 thoughts on “I’m A Catholic, And I’m Not Afraid Of Being Persecuted: Here’s Why

  1. 😂 “Now I’m going to continue living and stop fearing dying by listening to this catchy tune.” Hilarious. But this also was really touching to read, it’s clear that your faith in God is very important to you. That’s pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

