Why I Can’t Get Hyped For “Hacksaw Ridge”

Everywhere I look online, Christians are getting hyped for Hacksaw Ridge (2016).

After seeing the trailer, I understand why:

But, I can’t bring myself to be excited about this movie.

Why?

Because:

It feels like a product. Not a piece of art.

It feels like something created to rake in the cash. Not something created to get me thinking about complex people and complex situations.

When I read that all the movie’s f-words and instances of taking the Lord’s name in vain were edited out in order to make the movie more appealing to Christians, the first thing that popped into my head was:

The only negative review on Rotten Tomatoes (so far) confirms my worst fears about Hacksaw Ridge, too:

…the uncompromisingly gruesome, and undoubtedly impressive, fighting sequences are also punctuated by mishandled, corny beats, like when a Japanese soldier and an American grapple with a primed grenade, and realizing neither will let go, stare into each others’ eyes and bellow until they both explode.

It’s been a while since we’ve seen a war movie this one-sided, this unconcerned with acknowledging the humanity of the combatants on both sides.

…does a pretty huge disservice to the many devout Christians who fell throughout the war.
The Playlist

I’ll have to see Hacksaw Ridge for myself, in order to know with certainty if my thoughts and feelings about it are justified.

On a related note:

If you’re looking for a good movie about WWII, I recommend Grave of the Fireflies (1988):

One thought on “Why I Can’t Get Hyped For “Hacksaw Ridge”

Leave a Reply

