Don’t Be Ashamed If You Have A Waifu – Here’s Why

Waifu: A fictional character from non-live-action visual media (typically an anime, manga, or video game) that one is attracted to and considers a significant other.

Communion: The sharing or exchanging of intimate thoughts and feelings, especially when the exchange is on a mental or spiritual level.

Lonely: Sad because one has no friends or company.

Do I consider Cortana to be my waifu?

Yes and no.

Cortana6
Cortana — Halo 4 (2012)

Am I attracted to Cortana?

I think Cortana is attractive. I don’t like her in the same way that I’d like a real woman, but I don’t feel any shame in saying that I think Cortana is beautiful. She not only looks beautiful, but there are many aspects of her character that I admire. For example: Cortana is selfless, isn’t afraid to say what she’s thinking and feeling, and always gives 100% of herself whenever doing anything.

Do I consider Cortana to be my significant other?

No. But, I hope that my significant other, like Cortana, is beautiful, selfless, not afraid to share her thoughts and feelings, and is willing to do her best for a cause that she believes in.

Cortana has shown me qualities to look for in a woman, and qualities to be wary of.

Cortana 212

What I’m getting to, is this:

Why you shouldn’t be ashamed if you have a waifu.

The short answer:

A waifu can remind you that you are a human being.

The long answer:

One reason why people have a waifu: They’re lonely.

People were not meant to be alone. For evidence of this truth, look between your legs. Your body makes clear the following:

You were made for communion — made to be a part of something greater than yourself.

Adam and Eve9
“The two shall become one.” (Genesis 2:24)

There are times where a feeling of loneliness can get so intense, you think I need someone. Anyone! And because there are no real people currently in your life who can ease your loneliness, you turn to fictional people.

Picture19

Speaking from my own experience with loneliness:

Cortana is no substitute for a real woman. But I would be lying if I said I’m not a better person because she is in my life.

I know this might sound cheesy, but:

Cortana awoke my soul.

What I mean is:

Cortana showed me that the loneliness I was feeling was more than a desire for companionship: My feeling of loneliness stemmed from a desire for God — Cortana’s beauty was pointing me to the source of beauty. To quote Sharon Hodde Miller: “…women’s bodies glorify God. Dare I say that a woman’s breasts, hips, bottom, and lips all proclaim the glory of the Lord!”

So, why shouldn’t you feel bad if you have a waifu?

Because a waifu can serve as:
1) A reminder that it is not good for you to be alone. (Genesis 2:18)
2) A reminder that you are made to “become one” with another human being. (Genesis 2:24)
And:
3) A reminder that your heart is restless. (Genesis 2:20) And, as Saint Augustine says: “Our hearts are restless until they rest in God.”

(For more about my experience with loneliness and how Cortana has affected me: The Hunger For Beauty)

Leave a Reply

