Movieguide Doesn’t Hold “The Key to Real Media Wisdom”

Excerpts from The Key to Real Media Wisdom and my thoughts on them:

…as I’ve noted in the past…

Who is talking? There isn’t a name at the top of this post, so I have no idea.

In the parlance of the CIA…

I never thought I’d see the day a Christian organization looks up to an agency that condones torture.

Then again, Jesus was tortured too… Maybe Movieguide thinks the CIA is doing God’s will when they pour water on someone’s covered face?

Sadly, however, multiculturalism…

I’m pretty sure God is OK with people having different cultures. After all: God created different cultures. Four words: The. Tower. Of. Babel. (Genesis 11:1 — 9)

Personally, I would hate it if everyone in the world was part of one, specific culture. If everyone on Earth but me loved football, Westerns, fishing, and thought that driving an SUV and stockpiling nukes was doing God’s will, I would be miserable.

The ultimate conclusion of experiential learning would be that you have to try murder to find out if murder is wrong, try drugs to find out if drugs are wrong, etc.

I believe even the biggest proponent of experimental learning would think that murder is wrong without trying it first.

I believe people have better moral sense than that.

Why?

Because: Everyone has that voice in their head that goes “Maybe I shouldn’t do this.”

Regrettably, a new wave of Christian media courses sends vulnerable children to movies with corrosive, corrupting immorality and philosophy so that the children can talk to their peers about them.

How about you talk to the people in this “new wave of Christian media courses” instead of demonizing them by saying that the people in such courses send “vulnerable children to movies with corrosive, corrupting immorality and philosophy”?

Is demonizing your neighbor Christ-like behavior? No.

Is reaching out to people you don’t agree with Christ-like behavior? Yes.

And where is your evidence for what you’ve said? At least one of the people behind this post has a PhD. To that person: Didn’t they teach you in school that you can’t just pull words out of your butt — you have to back up your words with facts, too.

Also: Since you mention “vulnerable children,” is there such a thing as “invulnerable children”?

Media wisdom is finding out ahead of time that the movie is abhorrent and then choosing to go see a good movie instead.

That’s weird, because I could’ve sworn that the Bible said “media wisdom” is “Testing everything and holding fast to what is good.” (1 Thessalonians 5:21)

Many movies I like, Movieguide thinks are “abhorrent.” Like Watchmen (2009) and Evil Dead (2013). I’m reading the Bible, just like the people at Movieguide are. So what’s going on? Could it be that *gasp* movies are subjective?

If you want to talk to your friends about the abhorrent movie, you can get all you need to know from Movieguide.org.

What is “all you need to know” about a movie? Can you explain?

And: This sentence implies that kids (people under 18) visit Movieguide. Nothing could be further from the truth: Judging by the people leaving non-critical comments on Movieguide’s articles, the only people who trust Movieguide are middle-aged and elderly people.

Life is short.

Why this fear-based appeal? My kids and I are going to die soon, so I should go on Movieguide?

I can think of 100 things I’d rather do if my families’ death was immanent than read the latest Ted Baehr-approved Tom Snyder rant.

There are innumerable media choices we can make. Wisdom is going to sources such as MOVIEGUIDE® so that you can choose the good and reject the bad.

“Wisdom = Going on Movieguide.”

Where is that in the Bible?

I did find this in the Bible, though:

“Beware of false prophets, who come to you in sheep’s clothing but inwardly are ravenous wolves.” (Matthew 7:15)

Leave a Reply

