Ted Baehr Slanders “Christianity Today”?

“By their fruit you will recognize them.” (Matthew 7:16)

I have to break my rule, again, about writing about Movieguide on this blog. They dropped a bomb:

Slander: The action or crime of making a false spoken statement damaging to a person’s reputation.

Did Ted Baehr just slander Christianity Today, Arts and Faith, and other Christian film review institutions that don’t see the world the way he does?

The Key to Real Media Wisdom:

Regrettably, a new wave of Christian media courses sends vulnerable children to movies with corrosive, corrupting immorality and philosophy so that the children can talk to their peers about them.

It’s impossible to tell what Ted Baehr is specifically talking about when he says “…a new wave of Christian media courses…”

But: Isn’t “going out into the world” (Mark 16:15) — i.e., seeing movies with your peers and then talking about them — one of the purposes of evangelization?

Ted Baehr: It sounds like what you want is for Christians to be in a nice, safe, family-friendly, Christian-friendly bubble. There’s only one problem with that: Living in a bubble is the exact opposite of what God told His followers to do. Imagine if Paul never went to Corinth or Jonah never went to Nineveh because the cities were “immoral” and “corrupting.”

Frankly, Ted Baehr, I’m glad that Jesus’ apostles weren’t like you: Christianity wouldn’t have spread as far and as fast as it has if Christians insisted on not seeing anything that made them uncomfortable. Apparently you don’t know that, in movies, there is a difference between portraying evil and condoning evil.

It’s funny: As a result of Ted Baehr’s article, as a fan of communities like Christianity Today and Arts and Faith, I feel like I’m “at war” with Movieguide, and I was listening to this when I first read the article:

Perfect war music.

But, I don’t want to get into a fight with anyone. I’m just writing this post because the people need to know.

So, Ted Baehr: Stop the slander. OK? Besides: If you try and slander me, I just have to show people in Hollywood what you think of anyone who isn’t a conservative, capitalist Christian and I wouldn’t be surprised if people didn’t listen to you or Tom Snyder anymore.*

*Am I threatening you, Ted Baehr and Tom Snyder, by saying I’ll tell people in Hollywood what you think of them? Yes. The reason why is: To give you an incentive to not slander me.

Leave a Reply

