The Hunger For Beauty

For days, I’ve wanted to look at this piece of art I found:

Cortana Art242

The reason why might sound obvious: I want to look at this piece of art because it is art of a naked woman, and I’m a heterosexual guy.

But. That’s not the reason I’ve wanted to look at this art.

The reason I want to look is: It’s beautiful.

Maybe I’m just lonely. I spend a lot of time at home, looking after two old dogs, reading, writing, watching movies, and playing video games. A lot of my friends are busy, or I haven’t been able to talk to them, and so right now I don’t have a lot of people to hang out with. Maybe my desire to look at a piece of art like the one above comes from a desire for companionship. After all: It is not good to be alone. (Genesis 2:18)

I do know this, though: That art awakened something in me. A desire.

It did awaken sexual desire. But this, this desire, is something else.

I am reminded of this quote by C.S. Lewis:

If we find ourselves with a desire that nothing in this world can satisfy, the most probably explanation is that we were made for another world.

Such words describe how I feel about this art.

Why?

The reason why is, to quote Sharon Hodde Miller:

…women’s bodies glorify God. Dare I say that a woman’s breasts, hips, bottom, and lips all proclaim the glory of the Lord!

I believe that the beauty of this woman is directing my heart to the source of beauty — God.

…everything created by God is good… (1 Timothy 4:4)

I don’t want to lust at this piece of art: I don’t want to use this art as an excuse to live a sex fantasy.

What I want to do is get lost in this piece of art, learn how this woman’s “breasts, hips, bottom, and lips all proclaim the glory of the Lord,” and, as a result, experience a taste of what it is that my heart really, truly, wants: Paradise. Heaven.

Our hearts are restless until they rest in God. ~ St. Augustine

Quotes7

Where this piece of art comes from: Cortana, by “Commander182”

8 thoughts on “The Hunger For Beauty

Leave a Reply

