Why I Won’t Be Watching “Hillsong: Let Hope Rise”

Earlier today I saw a trailer for a movie called Hillsong: Let Hope Rise.

I won’t be watching it.

Why?

Two reasons.

The first reason is because I prefer instrumental music.

There are many songs I like. For example:

But, instrumental music will always be my favorite. I don’t know why yet.

The second reason I won’t be seeing Hillsong is:

I don’t see how music like Hillsong’s gets me closer to Jesus.

Just because a singer says words like “Jesus,” Hope,” or “Believe” doesn’t mean my relationship with God is going to be strengthened.

The first minute of Prometheus (2012) does more to awaken me spiritually than any of Hillsong’s music.

Why?

One reason why: The music.

Leave a Reply

