Is There A Link Between Nudity and Despair?

Nudity: The state or fact of being naked.

Despair: The complete loss or absence of hope.

Is there a link between despairing and being naked?

Why am I asking that question?

Because: A few days ago, I was having a bad day. (I’m feeling better now.) I typed in “despair” in Google because I was looking for a picture to put in that blog post in order to help me convey my feelings. And I saw a lot of pictures representing despair that included nudity.

And I thought: Why? Why is having no hope associated with having no clothes?

The reason I thought this is because I write about nudism.* From people commenting on my posts about nudism, sharing the experiences they’ve had not wearing clothes, I have read of how going naked has brought people peace, joy, and freedom. So it was a shock to see nudity be associated with a lack of peace, a lack of joy, and a lack of freedom.

But, now that I think more about it, it shouldn’t surprise me.

Why? This is why:

I’m a Catholic. I believe that evil exists.

Catholic6

But I don’t believe that evil can go mano-a-mano with good. Evil is just a corruption of good.

Like how the Orcs in Lord of the Rings

Orcs

…are nothing more than a corruption of Elves.

Elves

Inferior in every way.

What is my point? This:

Evil (for example: thoughts of despair) is nothing more than a corruption of good (for example: thoughts of hope).

God created the human body and said it was “very good” (Genesis 1:31), and it was God’s original plan that we would all be naked and not ashamed. (Genesis 2:25)

So: When evil wants to get us, it can’t make its own things and attack us with them. All it can do is corrupt what has already been created. For example: Evil can’t create a body to attack us with, all it can do is try and make us hate the body we have.

That is where, I think, a link between nudity and despair comes from.

A person who is despairing has lost all hope. A person who is naked has returned to the state that they were created in — un-clothed. In both cases, a person has been stripped. Stripped of hope, and stripped of clothes that provide protection and comfort. The loss of one (clothes) is symbolic of the loss of another (hope).

Clothes

In the Bible, a loss of hope (despair) means a need to cover up.

When Adam and Eve eat the fruit from the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil and they feel shame for the first time, and despair because they realize what they’ve done, their first action is to clothe themselves. (Genesis 3:7)

Eve in the Garden of Eden by Anna Lea Merritt

Being naked is no longer symbolic of paradise.

Adam and Eve4

Being naked is symbolic of the emotions felt as a result of the action that got us kicked out of paradise.

Despair3

*I am not a nudist, but the reason I write about nudism is because I am worried that nudists are people who are swept under the rug — ignored, or treated like outcasts. I want everyone to be respected and loved. And so I write about nudism to say “People who go naked exist. People who go naked shouldn’t be ignored. Why? Because Jesus wouldn’t ignore anyone.” For more about why I write about nudism: Modesty and Nudism

7 thoughts on “Is There A Link Between Nudity and Despair?

  1. I wish this post had surfaced on my end much sooner than it has. Nevertheless, glad I came across this in my news feed. Reminds me of the scene in X-Men: The Last Stand when Mystique loses her mutant abilities after saving Magneto. He then leaves her naked on the floor of the truck, alone and powerless. Although that movie was a trainwreck, it did have its redeeming moments and I think part of that scene relayed a connection between nudity and despair.

    Here’s a link to the particular scene: https://youtu.be/ppMdATen75M

    1. Thank you so much! I’m glad you liked this post.

      And thank you for this scene.

      I’ve only seen two of the X-Men movies (the first one and Days of Future Past) so this scene was new to me.

      1. You’re welcome!

        And a little off topic but when I first saw the third original X-Men film, I really liked the concept but not how it was executed in the long run. I think lost potential is what drew a lot of people away from it. If the filmmakers had kept a majority of the deleted and alternate scenes, alongside showing more of the extent to Jean Grey, Rouge, and Storm’s powers, it would’ve made for a great, satisfying film. However, I still believe “The Last Stand” is better than the new timeline of “X-Men: Apocalypse.” You actually felt the emotion, the high stakes. In Apocalypse, I feel it’s overblown.

        Back on topic, all in all, I love your post here in particular because it brought me back to that scene and allowed me to analyze the film again with less negativity, giving it the credence it deserves making those subtle connections.

      2. I never knew all this about the X-Men series. It’s a series I need to get more into — it sounds like it has good stories.

        I liked Days of Future Past, but don’t remember the first one since I saw it more than 10 years ago.

        And I’m glad my post helped you analyze that scene in a more positive way.

        That scene was so sad. 😥

        I don’t know what kind of impact my posts about nudity (and my posts in general) will have, so I’m glad that, so far, it’s a positive impact.

      3. Yeah it’s a pretty in depth series. Ever since Halo went down hill I started to get back into the other series I loved when I was younger. Best decision I’ve made as it’s given me a broader spectrum of stories to enjoy.

        Also that scene hit me like an 18 wheeler. Especially since I didn’t expect Magneto to just abandon Mystique like that all because the “cure,” a serum that heavily suppresses mutants’ X-gene, rendered her “human.” I include quotation marks with this statement because 1. the serum isn’t really a cure, and 2. it does not permanently take away a mutants powers. Mystique, Rouge, and Magneto, and likely anyone who had been injected with the serum all recovered and regained their powers after a certain amount of time. There are several different versions of this “cure.” Character Hank McCoy developed one himself as can be seen in X-Men: First Class (where the cure actually backfired) and in Days of Future Past to suppress his mutation.

        When you have the time, I suggest watching X-Men 2 then 3 before Apocalypse so you have more ground to form an opinion on them to better compare the original trilogy to the new timeline. By the way, Days of Future Past and this new timeline is literally an attempt to retcon every event that happened in Brett Ratner’s X-Men: The Last Stand due to its plot holes and poorly represented cast. (I wish they would’ve seen the good in some of the scenes and included parts reminiscent of the Last Stand into Days of Future Past (e.g., the design of the Sentinel). The “old” and young versions of the characters could’ve been included in Apocalypse as well, for instance, Famke Janssen meeting Sophie Turner like in DoFP young and old Xavier.

        Spoiler: Though heavily debated, Scott Summers and Jean Grey were killed off and at the end of X3, it’s shown that Xavier isn’t dead. He transferred his consciousness to his comatose twin brother’s body, P. Xavier. Don’t ask why Xavier from that point forward continues to use his wheelchair because those injuries don’t exist in his brother’s body. The filmmakers have chosen to completely make the films “X-Men: Origins” and X3 no longer cannon due to said reasons because there weren’t any viable explanations to make it work in the story as a whole. Days of Future Past was good in resetting the timeline but I wish Jean Grey and everyone else was more deeply involved in the plot.

        And I say your posts about nudity mainly promote a positive outlook on different perspectives and ways of thinking and dealing with things in life.

Leave a Reply

