Why I Hate The Term “Christian Movie”

I’m a Christian.

Specifically, I’m a Catholic.

I hate Christian movies. I hate them with the white-hot passion of a thousand suns.

What do I mean by “Christian movies”?

I mean movies made by Christians, for Christians. Movies like:

God’s Not Dead (2014) and God’s Not Dead 2 (2016):

Woman3

Woodlawn (2015):

Movie96

And War Room (2015):

War Room5

Why do I hate Christian movies?

1. The filmmakers can be whiners. For example:

Left Behind2
Left Behind (2014)
Kirk
Saving Christmas (2014)

2. The audience can be whiners. For example:

Please Stop Holding Movies to High Standards:

In the eyes of those critics, GOD’S NOT DEAD 2 isn’t a “bad” movie because of bad acting, bad cinematography, or even bad writing, it’s bad because in their eyes, a movie that preaches and teaches by definition can’t be a good movie.

3. The filmmakers can act like their movie is the only thing standing between humanity and the fires of Hell:

4. The movies can be nothing more than feature-length sermons (I don’t know about you, but I go to the movies to experience a story, not hear a message):

The world doesn’t need “Christian movies.”

What the world needs is goodness, truth, and beauty, wherever it comes from.

Goodness, truth, and beauty can come from anyone. Even from people who aren’t Christians.

If you don’t believe me:

He has put eternity in man’s heart. (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable — if anything is excellent or praiseworthy — think about such things. (Philippians 4:8)

Movies that have strengthened my faith in God are movies like:

Evil Dead (2013):

Movie26

Kiki’s Delivery Service (1988):

Kiki29

And Prometheus (2012):

Movie83

 

Leave a Reply

