The Bridge on the River Kawaii

Recently I learned from a movie critic whose writing I follow that The Bridge on the River Kwai (1957) is on Netflix.

The story of American POWs in Burma forced to aid the Japanese war effort, it’s a classic movie that I haven’t seen yet but will, I imagine, watch one day.* I’ve heard nothing but good things about it.

I have to admit, when I saw the words “Bridge on the River Kwai” I couldn’t help but change “Kwai” to “Kawaii.” The words just sounded so similar to me.

Kawaii: (in the context of Japanese popular culture) cute. The quality of being cute, or items that are cute.

In celebration of all things kawaii, here are things that make me go “Aww!”

Anime Cortana (click here to go to where this piece of art comes from):

Cortana Art59

Yui, the artificial intelligence (AI) from Sword Art Online:

Kiki, from Kiki’s Delivery Service (1989):

Eureka, from Eureka Seven:

Eureka

Shizuku and Seiji, from Whisper of the Heart (1995):

Whisper of the Heart121

This meme (from the Facebook page “Catholic Anime”):

Catholic

This cat:

Cat2

BB-8, from Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015):

Star Wars8

What makes you go “Aww!”?

(Click here to go to where the picture of the teddy bear on the bridge comes from.)

*Thank you to a commenter for letting me know that it wasn’t just American POWs who worked on the bridge. British, Dutch, and Australian POWs worked on the bridge, too.

2 thoughts on “The Bridge on the River Kawaii

  1. I beg your pardon! The film,”The Bridge Over the River Kwai” starred Sir Alec Guiness and directed by David Lean, and is an excellent film.

    I think you should watch it and learn something at the same time. For instance, it is about British soldiers forced to work on the Burma (death) Railway. The number of American POWs working on the railway numbered less than 700 of which 113 died. They DO NOT feature in the film at all. There were roughly 30,000 British POWs working on the railway of which 7,000 died, while 18,000 Dutch and 13,000 Australians also worked as forced labour on the railway, of which 2,800 died in each case.

    As you will gather history is fairly important to me and I imagine that you are of the generation that has swallowed Hollywood’s propaganda that America won World War Two all by itself, hook, line and sinker. Well, I have news for you, there were many more nations in that conflict, not just America.

    1. Thank you for commenting.

      I’m looking forward to eventually watching “The Bridge Over the River Kwai.”

      You’re right: It wasn’t just Americans who worked on the bridge. I will make the necessary changes to my post.

      Since you’re in to history, I recommend the book “Soldat: Reflections of a German Soldier, 1936-1949” by Siegfried Knapp and Ted Brusaw.

Leave a Reply

