Why I Won’t Be Watching “Finding Dory”

*whew*

OK. I just felt the need to write this down:

Ever since Finding Dory was announced, this is how I’ve felt about the movie:

Meme57

The reasons why are:

Andrew Stanton isn’t passionate about the movie.

From “Finding Dory” Director Gets Honest:

“There was polite inquiry from Disney [about a Finding Nemo sequel],” says Stanton, also a vice president at Pixar. “I was always ‘No sequels, no sequels.’ But I had to get on board from a VP standpoint. [Sequels] are part of the necessity of our staying afloat, but we don’t want to have to go there for those reasons. We want to go there creatively, so we said [to Disney], ‘Can you give us the timeline about when we release them? Because we’d like to release something we actually want to make, and we might not come up with it the year you want it.’”

It is stories that saved my life.

And so, when I hear that a storyteller is making something because their boss says so, not because they want to, that upsets me.

During the making of Finding Dory, I imagine Disney doing this to Pixar:

If I want a message, I’ll check my voicemail.

Since the second trailer came out, there has been speculation that Finding Dory will feature a lesbian couple.

For example: Does ‘Finding Dory’ Feature Pixar’s First Lesbian Couple?

Movie69

Now: I have no issue with gay people or gay couples.

What I have an issue with is being preached to.

And that’s what I feel a shot like that one is doing: Telling me that I have to accept a reality that I already accept: The reality that there are gay people who are in relationships.

If my suspicions are correct, these two women are in the movie for no other reason than so that, basically, Pixar can point to them and go “Look! Lesbians!”

Which I find insulting.

It’s like, with this blink-and-you’ll-miss-it shot of two women with a baby carriage, Pixar is going “OK. We can cross ‘Include gay people’ off our to-do list. That’ll get GLAAD off our back.”

Sia’s cover of Nat ‘King’ Cole’s “Unforgettable” that, I’m guessing, will be played during end credits.

Listen to this:

Then listen to this:

“It’s a joke. It’s all a joke.”

And, finally:

The movie just doesn’t look good.

Nothing in all the trailers made me laugh, think, or want to know more.

Finding Nemo doesn’t need a sequel.

So why does it have one? Money.

Leave a Reply

