One thing that always bothered me about Courageous

One of the things that always bothered me about the movie Courageous (2011) is that, in the scene with the Promise Rings, the daughter’s behavior comes out of nowhere.

It’s been years since I saw this movie, but if I remember correctly:

In the last scene Jade was in, she basically said to her dad “I want to be able to do what I want to do, when I want to do it.” And in the next scene she’s in, Jade says “I’ll do what you want” after her dad gives her a ring and tells her what he wants her to do. Jade flips 180 degrees with no build-up.

Compare that scene with this scene from Whisper of the Heart (1995):

Whisper of the Heart115

Shizuku’s parents know that something is up with her: She rarely comes out of her room, she doesn’t eat, and her grades are falling.

And yet: Rather than saying “I want you to do what I tell you to do,” Shizuku’s dad trusts her enough to say “Do what you believe in” because he knows that, whatever she’s doing, she’s working hard. But, at the same time, he lets Shizuku know that her choices have consequences.

Whisper of the Heart111

Whisper of the Heart114

I feel like the dad in Courageous sees his daughter as someone to be controlled.

In contrast: Shizuku’s parents give her the freedom to make her own choices, but also let Shizuku know that she has to face the consequences of those choices.

I know which of these two young women I would consider more ready to face adulthood:

One thought on “One thing that always bothered me about Courageous

Leave a Reply

