Tolerance and Empathy

Below are quotes and pictures I’ve found.

Quotes2

Judge

The reason for this post, is this:

I’m a Catholic. I believe it is my duty to spread Jesus’ message of forgiveness of sins, and salvation, across the world. It is for that reason, too, that I try and empathize with people.

Empathize: Understand and share the feelings of another.

That was the reason for the quotes at the top: To point out that people have their reasons for doing what they’re doing, and to point how important it is for people who don’t agree, or understand, to know that.

Which is why it makes me facepalm when I read a quote like the one from Archbishop Charles J. Chaput that I posted above.

The Archbishop, when he says that “Evil preaches tolerance…” to me implies that people who don’t agree with the teachings of the Catholic Church are evil.

Tolerance: The ability or willingness to tolerate something, in particular the existence of opinions or behavior that one does not necessarily agree with.

I don’t think people who want, say, two men or two women to be allowed to marry…

Gay marriage

…are evil.

I think that such people, like the Archbishop, are God’s children, created in His image and likeness.

Adam and Eve7

I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again:

Catholics aren’t doing themselves any favors when they treat those who think differently than they do like they’re agents of Satan. Everyone has their reasons for doing what they’re doing. Catholics need to acknowledge that. And I think that when that happens — when Catholics are willing to empathize with people — God can work wonders in unexpected ways.

I’m going to end this post with two more quotes:

Meme39

God6

2 thoughts on “Tolerance and Empathy

Leave a Reply

