The Problem With “God’s Not Dead 2”

I recommend reading this post first: Everything I’ve Written About God’s Not Dead 2, All In One Place

There is a problem with God’s Not Dead 2. A big problem. What is it? This:

Judging by the trailer, the movie isn’t joyful.

I’ll explain:

Fans of God’s Not Dead 2, how does the trailer make you feel?

“No prayers. No moments of silence. Nothing.”

“We’re at war.”

“We’re going to prove, once and for all, that God is dead.”

“I am not gonna be afraid to say the name ‘Jesus.'”

Personally, it  makes me feel anxious. There is a feeling of dread throughout the trailer. A feeling of “This could happen to you.”

And to that I say: Who would want to be a member of a religion like that?

Who would want to be a member of a religion that is, if God’s Not Dead 2 is anything to go by, constantly checking its closet for the boogeyman? I know I wouldn’t, if I wasn’t already.

It’s movies like God’s Not Dead 2 that make me ashamed to say “I’m a Christian.” Why? Because I can’t believe that fellow believers in the resurrection of Jesus can be this insecure.

Meme47

On another note:

News to Christians: It is possible to have a well-made, non-preachy, fun movie that unashamedly says “There is a god,” that can be enjoyed by the whole family.

What movie am I referring to?

Kiki’s Delivery Service.

For example: The lyrics, as far as I can tell, to the song “If I’ve Been Enveloped In Tenderness,” which plays during the end credits (an English translation of the song):

When I was little, God was there and wonderfully granted my dream.

On mornings when I wake up with kindly feelings, even though I’ve grown up, miracles happen!

Opening the curtain, tranquil sunlight filtering through the trees.

If it envelopes me in tenderness, surely everything reflected in my eyes will be a message.

When I was little, God was there and every day he delivered love.

Inside my heart, I had forgotten my precious box of good memories.

The time to open it is now.

But, who am I kidding? Many Christians will dismiss the movie because it has witchcraft.

After all: Why go and “make disciples of all nations” (Matthew 28:19) and praise whatever is “excellent” (Philippians 4:8) when it’s easier to stay in the upper room — in the communities you’ve built for yourselves that don’t allow a different opinion to be heard?

Apostles

 

 

 

One thought on “The Problem With “God’s Not Dead 2”

Leave a Reply

