Reaching Out to Those Who Think Differently: Part 2

Recommended reading: Reaching Out to Those Who Think Differently: Part 1

First: Thank you to the blogs “clothesfreelife” and “NomadGeekNudie,” and everyone else who has enjoyed, “Liked,” commented on, or shared one of my posts. When I learn that my writing has had a positive impact on a person, it makes my day.

Now:

I’ve written a lot about nudism.

The reason why is because I want the nudist lifestyle to be more acknowledged than it currently seems to be.

The reason why I want this is that I don’t like it when groups of people are, it seems, swept under the rug. As a Christian who takes seriously Jesus’ call to proclaim the Good News to the ends of the Earth, it strikes me as un-Christian to ignore people. (On a semi-related note: Quiverfull: No gay people allowed in church or families.)

Whatever you did to the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did to me. (Matthew 25:40)

Man

Before I formed you in the womb I knew you… (Jeremiah 1:5)

There is good in nudism. That goodness needs to be defended. Why? This is why:

He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart… (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

…whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable — if anything is excellent or praiseworthy — think about such things. (Philippians 4:8)

I’ve done my best, and will continue doing my best, to reach out to nudists. To build bridges. To let people in the nudist community know: God loves you, and he created your body and said it was “very good.” (Genesis 1:31)

Bridge

But, despite that, I can’t help but feel…stuck.

I’m realizing now that there’s only so much words can do. That I can’t control how others think, feel, or act. That I can only control how I think, feel, and act. That I’m not, in fact, some godlike orator who can bring about social change at the drop of a hat. I’m just a guy with a laptop.

I wish I could do more to help not just nudists, but people in general. I don’t want to live for myself. I want to live for others.

But. I have to acknowledge that, in the end, there is only so much I can do. I have to acknowledge my limitations.

Depression

6 thoughts on “Reaching Out to Those Who Think Differently: Part 2

  1. Thank you for reaching out! The knowledge that God loves us and our bodies is in fact growing in the nudist community. You might be amazed at just how many Christian naturists there are, who stand up for God and the goodness of the body He created. So, never forget: You are not alone.

    1. You’re welcome.

      Thank you for your encouraging words. 🙂 I needed to hear such words today.

      One other thought that has been buzzing around in my head lately:

      God chooses the most unlikely people to carry out his will. The most famous people in the Bible were drunkards, adulterers, prostitutes, murderers, liars, cowards, awful public speakers, etc.

      I’m not saying that nudists are drunkards, adulterers, prostitutes, etc.

      What I’m saying is: God can use anyone to proclaim his glory. I believe that God is using nudism to teach people — using nudism to change the world for the better.

      1. Nudists are oppressed?

        I didn’t know such a thing was happening. The impression I got was that nudists were being ignored: that nobody in any church wanted to talk about the subject of nudism.

        “Speak the truth with love.” (Ephesians 4:15)

        I try and keep that quote in mind whenever I talk to people.

        What needs to happen, I think, is for there to be a respectful dialogue: For churches and nudists to sit down and explain to each other why they believe what they believe.

        When that happens, I think God can do wonderful things. As the Bible says “Blessed are the peacemakers.” (Matthew 5:9)

      2. We’ve tried that. I actually had a good dialogue going with a Messianic rabbi. But at the pastoral and administrative levels, we have been denied leadership roles once it’s known we are nudists. Sermons have been preached against nudism, in ignorance. Governments have restricted nudity on beaches and in parks where it was formerly accepted. Micro aggressions if not full-scale oppression.

      3. I’m sorry to hear that.

        I will pray that peoples’ perception of nudists will improve.

        Speaking from my own experience: I wouldn’t think the way I do about nudists today if I hadn’t gone out of my comfort zone months ago and wrote a blog post called “Reaching out to nudists.” Once I actually talked to people who were nudists, and read why they live their lives the way they do, my thoughts on nudism changed.

        There is only so much a person can do before they just have to say “God, it’s in your hands now.”

        You can’t control how others think, feel, or act. You can only control how you think, feel, and act.

Leave a Reply

