My Thoughts on Feminism

Note: The subject of feminism is a complex one. This post is just me explaining my thoughts on it. If you think what I’m saying is off-base, or I offended or upset you, than let me know. Let’s talk about the complex subject that is feminism, and by doing so come to a better understanding of not just ourselves, but of our fellow human beings, too. Also: Please read this post all the way through before commenting. Thank you.

I don’t consider myself a feminist.

Why?

1. Because I don’t know what the purpose of feminism is.
2. Because I consider myself something else. More on that in a moment…

Feminism2

I know back in the day the feminist movement fought for things like women having the right to vote.

I like that women have the right to vote, and can have a career if they so choose. I want women to be paid the same as men, too. And I don’t want women to face roadblocks in their careers — or in their private lives — just because they’re women.* If that makes me a feminist, than OK.

But, I consider myself something else: A Catholic.

Meme10

Contrary to popular belief, the Catholic Church doesn’t teach that men are superior to women. Here’s what the Catholic Church teaches: Men and women are created in the image and likeness of God. As a result, one sex does not have dominance over the other. To the Catholic Church, men and women are like puzzle pieces: since both are puzzle pieces, one is not superior to the other, though both do have undeniable differences. What is the point of this paragraph? This: Calling myself a feminist is redundant, because my religious beliefs already affirm the feminist worldview — the “feminist worldview” being this: Men and women are equal.**

If feminism helps to ensure that women won’t face roadblocks in their professional or private lives, than more power to it.

Otherwise, I don’t get what the purpose of feminism is nowadays. Other than to be a meme.

Feminism

On a related note: The two words that make my ears bleed are “Patriarchy” and “Illuminati.” The reason why is because there is as much proof for the existence of one as there is proof for the existence of the other.*** If you want to know what it sounds like when I hear the word “Patriarchy,” watch this video and, while watching it, replace the word “Illuminati” with “Patriarchy.”

Did you watch the video all the way through? Even if you didn’t, congratulations! Now you know how I feel when I hear about a woman pinning the injustice committed against her on “The Patriarchy.”

To back up on what I said earlier, about not understanding the purpose of feminism nowadays, and that its only purpose, as far as I can see, is to be a meme: Now that I think more about it, I do understand the purpose of feminism.

I hear that, nowadays, feminism is about advocating for the equality of men and women. Nothing wrong with equality. But why is a movement which advocates the equality of women AND men called “feminism”? Last time I checked, men were “masculine” and women were “feminine.”**** My point: I thought feminism was all about the rights of women… What’s that? The movement has evolved? OK. Then shouldn’t the name of the movement evolve, too? No? OK. That makes sense…

Face2

I’ve heard too that, nowadays, feminism pertains not just to men, but homosexuals, transsexuals, bisexuals… if you’re a human being, feminism pertains to you. Which just seems weird to me. Here’s why: To use an example from back in the day: Back in the day, women were fighting for the right to vote. It makes sense then that this movement of women would be called “The Feminist Movement” — because it’s all about women: giving women what women want. But now the word “feminism” pertains to every single human being. It’s like feminism is that grandma who, in an effort to keep up with the times and thus consider herself still relevant, adopts the clothing and mannerisms of her grandchildren.**

Meme13

One more thing: There is a worldview that holds that all human beings are equal: Egalitarianism. Why don’t people call themselves egalitarians, instead of feminists? Is it because there’s a herd mentality with feminism?***** A mentality of “If I don’t call myself a feminist, than I’ll be called a sexist”?

So, there it is. My thoughts on feminism.

The subject of feminism is a complex one. This post is just me explaining my thoughts on it. If you think what I’m saying is off-base, or I offended or upset you, than let me know. Let’s talk about the complex subject that is feminism, and by doing so come to a better understanding of not just ourselves, but of our fellow human beings, too. And I’m sorry if I offended or angered you. That was not my intent.

*What roadblocks could women face in their private lives? Well, one example would be dress codes: Dress codes which put more of an emphasis on what women wear than on what men wear.

**If someone were an atheist, or their religious beliefs taught that women were not equal to men, than I can understand their reasoning behind calling themselves a feminist. Otherwise, if their religious beliefs teach that all people are equal, than what is the point in calling themselves a feminist? It seems redundant. Thank you to blogger Matt Walsh for pointing this out.

***Yes, there was a secret society called “The Illuminati.” It was created in the 18th century. When I say “The Illuminati” I’m referring to the group that, according to Christian conspiracy theorists, secretly runs the world and that will usher in the Anti-Christ and a New World Order.

****Or were the terms “masculine” and “feminine” invented by The Patriarchy?

*****Herd Mentality, according to Urban Dictionary.

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Feminism

Leave a Reply

