I Don’t Consider Myself A Fanboy

I don’t like the term “Fanboy.”

Wikipedia defines “Fanboy” as: “…a person considered to belong to one or more fandoms to the point of obsession.”

That sounds about right to me.

Now, I like stereotypical fanboy things. I like Star Wars, I like monster movies, I like anime, just to give a few examples.

But I wouldn’t call myself a fanboy, and this is why — I don’t want my appreciation for something I am a fan of to turn into an obsession. I don’t just want to enjoy something, I don’t want to mindlessly embrace “the next big thing” — I want to analyze it, think about it to determine if it really is worth my time.

There’s always going to something new, something that I’m told will blow my mind. Soon it will be The Avengers: Age of Ultron, then Batman and Superman in a movie together, then Star Wars Episode VII, then, years from now, who knows?

But will any of these really be worth my time? Will any of these give me characters to empathize with, take me to places I haven’t been before, give me experiences that are new, or make me think about the world in ways I never did? I can’t say yet.

Full disclosure: I’m writing this post because I’m burned out on popular culture.

Excuse me while I vent my frustration. And I apologize if what I’m about to say doesn’t make sense. I just need to get this off my chest:

I like movies like Transformers or Pacific Rim from time to time. But where are the characters? Granted, the characters in both movies aren’t bad, but I just want more from them. And I want more from characters in general.

That is why I’ve been making lists of my favorite characters, movies, TV series, books, songs and video games. Because I want to remind myself of what is worth holding on to so that I will be better able to determine what isn’t worth my time.

Leave a Reply

