My Thoughts On Popular TV Series

1) Doctor Who. Can’t get into it. Won’t try to get into it. It’s just not my cup of tea.

2) The Big Bang Theory. I watch it when there’s nothing else on, though I can’t imagine binge-watching it. This series seems to have every nerd cliche in the book. For example: Of course the characters are Star Trek fans and of course they don’t know how to talk to women. And Sheldon. Sheldon is one of the most unlikable characters I’ve ever seen. He rubs his sense of superiority in everyone’s face and treats everyone around him like dirt. I’d rather get my teeth cleaned than spend ten minutes with him. At least getting my teeth cleaned would be beneficial to my health. And I’ll chuckle occasionally, but the series is not very funny, either. Every 30 seconds you hear a laugh track, too. It’s the loudest laugh track I’ve ever heard. And if the laugh track is anything to go by, every gag, joke, awkward situation or pun is side-splitting, rolling-on-the-floor, funniest-thing-ever hilarious.

3) Game of Thrones. Other than portraying gratuitous sex, nudity and violence, what exactly is the point of this series? Well, I’m not going to wait to find out. (I read the first 200 pages of the first book but stopped after it was clear that this series’ plot wasn’t going anywhere. And if reviews of the TV series are anything to go by, the TV series contains even more gratuitous sex and nudity than the books.)

4) The Walking Dead. If you want to get your zombie fix, just read World War Z by Max Brooks.

5) Firefly. I’ve seen parts of episodes (when my older brother was watching the series, I’d wander into the room and watch for a few minutes at a time). But when I sat down to watch the first episode, I didn’t finish it for two reasons. The first reason would be that I thought the notion that prostitution is legal in the future is something an immature teenager would think up, not Joss Whedon. And the sex scenes were gratuitous. (I don’t consider myself a prude — I just have no patience for content that seems to be there just for the sake of being there.) The second reason was that I thought the characters and their conflicts were introduced too fast. I felt like I never got a chance to catch my breath. Now, from the parts of other episodes I had watched with my older brother, I can see why people like this series and why it is so popular, and I thought I would like it even more once I watched the entire series myself. But the first episode ruined it for me.

6) House of Cards. Again, gratuitous sex and nudity ruined it for me. It’s too bad because the characters and the plot are so interesting. It’s easy to see why this series is so popular. It’s just a shame that the people who created House of Cards seem to flaunt the fact that, since the series is on Netflix and not on television, they can (pretty much) do as they please.

This post is not meant to offend anyone who is a fan of these series. I’m just expressing my opinion.

Leave a Reply

