My Thoughts On the Movie “2001: A Space Odyssey” (SPOILERS)

My thoughts right after the movie ended:

Um… Huh? Uh… What?

I liked this movie.

Here is why I liked it:

1) The opening was quiet, filled with meaning, and was a good way of building suspense.

2) The black monoliths.

3) The movie’s score.

4) I didn’t keep track of this while watching, but I would say that for more than half the movie there is no dialogue.

5) The supercomputer Hal 9000 has been called one of the greatest villains in movie history. I can see why. He is the second greatest villain I have seen in a movie. (The first would be Darth Vader.) Over the course of the film I went from finding him intriguing, to hoping that he would be destroyed, to, finally, feeling bad for him.

6) My second favorite line in the movie comes from Hal. It’s the most creative way of telling someone to shut up that I’ve heard: “Dave, this conversation can serve no purpose anymore. Good-bye.”

7) I liked 2001 because it is a movie that is unlike anything that I’ve seen before.

8) The movie is broken up into three parts. The name of part three is my favorite: “Jupiter and Beyond the Infinite.” That phrase “Beyond the Infinite” just, to use an overused expression, blew my mind. I mean, what is “the infinite”? What can be beyond the infinite?

9) My favorite line in the movie: “Except for a single, very powerful radio emission aimed at Jupiter, the 4-million-year-old black monolith has remained completely inert. Its origin and purpose still a total mystery.” I love this line because it’s spoken by a scientist. A scientist who is humbled by the mysteries of the universe. To some, there is no question that science can’t answer, no mystery that science can’t solve. This line illustrates that, no matter how much we learn, there will always mysteries.

Now, on to what I didn’t like about the movie:

There were two scenes I didn’t like. One consists of an astronaut doing a spacewalk, and the whole time you just hear him breathing. The sound gets annoying after a while. The other was in a spacecraft — the noise that annoyed me here was a persistent beeping from one of the spacecraft’s controls. Both of these scenes, I would say, were around five minutes long.

And that’s all I didn’t like.

Leave a Reply

