My Thoughts On Christian Movies: Part 1

I think the hearts of the people who make these movies are in the right place, but that they are not good movies. For example, I watched the 2011 movie October Baby last Friday and stopped less than halfway through. I’m glad the movie moved at a fast pace, but there was so much in the movie that just seemed like filler; despite the movie’s fast pace the trip to Alabama seemed to go on forever which wasn’t good because I thought this movie was more about the destination than the journey.

I found myself asking things like, “Why was that scene in the movie?” or saying things like, “I guess I was supposed to laugh during that scene.” And at times October Baby looked more like a music video than a movie. I didn’t think the acting, except for the man who played Hannah’s father, was good either.

If Christians are going to succeed in changing the culture then their efforts have got to be a lot better than this. I know that making a movie is hard and stressful, but I look at Christian movies today and I imagine myself talking to the people who made them and asking, “This is what you thought was good enough?”

9 thoughts on “My Thoughts On Christian Movies: Part 1

  1. Spot on Tim! It’s not what somebody creates but how what they create is interpreted by the viewer. Take a movie like Secretariat, lots of Christian philosophy and delivered in a captivating way. Much more effective in my opinion. Thanks for starting the conversation!

    1. Tyler, thanks for your comment. “Itโ€™s not what somebody creates but how what they create is interpreted by the viewer.” I hadn’t thought of that before. I’ll be writing more about subjects like this. This kind of stuff is what is bouncing around in my head all day.

  2. This is something new for me to learn about and I notice you have been blogging for quite some time. Years into blogging is a motivation in itself. Thank you for that. โ˜บ

    1. Thank you so much. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad to hear that.

      I started blogging because I was at a low point in my life and I needed a release for my pent-up thoughts and feelings, so my family suggested I start a blog.

      It’s one of the best choices I ever made.

Leave a Reply

